<u>Secretary-General's statement on the naming of the Israeli and Turkish</u> members of the Panel of Inquiry on the flotilla incident of 31 May 2010

I am very pleased to announce today the Israeli and Turkish members of the Panel of Inquiry on the flotilla incident of 31 May 2010.

Israel's Panel member is Mr. Joseph Ciechanover. Turkey's Panel member is Mr. Özdem Sanberk. Both men have distinguished records of public service.

I look forward to meeting them in New York on 10 August when they will join the other Panel members; the former Prime Minister of New Zealand, Mr. Geoffrey Palmer, who is the Chair of the Panel, and the outgoing President of Colombia, Mr. Alvaro Uribe, who is Vice-Chair.

As I said when announcing the Panel, I hope the Panel will fulfil its mandate based on the Presidential Statement of the Security Council and with the fullest cooperation of the relevant national authorities of the two countries.

New York, 7 August 2010